
CLINTON COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT 

930-A FAIRFAX St., Carlyle IL, 62231  

PHONE 594-2723 

www.clintonco.illinois.gov 
 

 

MEMORANDUM 

TO:     Food Service and Food Retail Establishments 

FROM:    Holly Timmermann, LEHP 

    Environmental Health Program  

DATE:    January 2, 2014    

SUBJECT: New Food Handler Certification and FSSMC Requirements 

 

On August 27, 2013 the Food Handling Regulation Enforcement Act (410 ILCS 625), amended per 

SB1495, was signed into law.  This brings several changes to the Food Service Sanitation Manager 

Certification (FSSMC) program as follows: 

1. Beginning on July 1, 2014, the training hour requirement for FSSMC courses is reduced from 15 

hours down to 8 hours, inclusive of the exam 

2. Beginning on July 1, 2014, the student must take an 8 hour course and exam every 5 years for 

recertification 

3. Beginning on July 1, 2014, a Food Handler Certification will be required for all food handlers 

working in a restaurant, other than someone holding a Food Service Sanitation Manager 

Certificate, and they must receive or obtain training in basic safe food handling principles as 

outlined in the bill within 30 days after employment 

Enclosed are several educational documents to help you follow the new law described above.  

 Frequently Asked Questions, Food Handler Training in Illinois 

 Food Handler Training Determination Tree, is a document to assist in determining who needs 

Food Handler training. 

 American National Standard Institute (ANSI) accredited Food Handler Training Courses 

 Food Service Sanitation Manager Certification (FSSMC) Refresher Course Eligibility Chart 

 



The Clinton County Health Department classifies food service establishments into three categories with 

specific training requirements for each as described below.  Proof of training and certification must be 

available in the facility upon inspector request.  

High Classification Establishments:  These establishments normally are full menu restaurants and 

grocery stores; some menu items require complex preparation, they utilize raw meats and other 

Potentially Hazardous Foods.  PHF’s are stored and prepared at required temperatures for proper 

heating, cooling and reheating.  This type of food service establishment should have at least one 

person with a FSSMC per operational shift.  More than one person needs to have a FSSMC at this type 

of establishment.  All food handlers will need to possess a Food Handler Certification. 

Medium Classification Establishments:  These establishments are mostly fast food operations, foods are 

cooked to order, most foods are frozen, no leftover foods reused, no major food preparation.  This type 

of food service establishment should have at least one person with a FSSMC, preferably a manager 

who oversees daily operations.  All food handlers will need to possess a Food Handler Certification. 

Low Classification Establishments:  These establishments offer only pre-packaged foods.  Only beverages 

(alcoholic or non-alcoholic) are served.  No person with a FSSMC needed at this type of food service 

establishment.  All food handlers will need to possess a Food Handler Certification. 

If you have any questions, please contact me at 594-2723 or holly.timmermann@clintonco.illinois.gov. 
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Frequently Asked Question 

Food Handler Training in Illinois 

The following answers are based on Public Act 098-0566 and proposed rules that are in the review 

process.  Some answers are subject to change. 

Who is considered a Food Handler? 

A Food Handler is a Food Employee as defined in Section 750.110 of the Illinois Food Service Sanitation 

Code, “means individual working with unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food-contact 

surfaces.” 

 

Who is required to have Food Handler Training? 

Any food handler working in the state of Illinois, unless that person has a valid Illinois Food Service 

Sanitation Manage Certification (FSSMC).  If someone working in a facility that is not a food handler on a 

regular basis, but fills in as a food handler when needed, they too must have a food handler training. 

 

Will everyone receiving Food Handler Training receive a certificate? 

Not every food handler training course will issue a certificate, but proof of training must be available in 

the facility upon inspector request.  All ANSI approved food handler training courses will issue a 

certificate upon passing the assessment. 

 

Can a “train the trainer” approach be used, where one person attend a training and they go back and 

teach others within their facility? 

No, this not be acceptable for food handlers working in a restaurants because the food handler needs to 

receive the training themselves and be assessed by the approved training program provider. 

Yes, the train the trainer approach could be used for those food handlers working in non-restaurants. 

 

Is there a set fee for the course? 

No, the Act states there has to be at least one food handler training option available for $15.00 or less 

and there are multiple ANSI approved programs available online at that price. 

 

If retail food establishments also have a deli or produce (cutting fruits & vegetables for tray/fruit 

salads etc.) section, do the deli and produce employees but not stockers/cashiers need their food 

handler training by July 1, 2014? 



Retail stores with delis would be considered non-restaurant and everyone meeting the definition of a 

food handler would need training.  Non-restaurant food handlers need to have training by July 1, 2016. 

 

Do temporary or mobile food stands (cotton candy/corn dogs/shake-ups, etc.) require food handling 

certificates? 

Mobile food – yes, food handlers would need training 

Temporary food – no, proposed rules will exempt temporaries 

 

Will places not permitted by local health departments require food handler training? – Churches and 

Clubs (Lions, VFW, American Legion)? 

Most clubs should already be permitted by LHDs since they have a kitchen and serve the public.  Yes, 

they would require food handler training. 

If a church is just doing temporary events, then they would not need food handler training, as 

temporaries are exempt from having food handler training in the proposed rules. 

 

Will volunteers be required to have food handler training? 

If they are volunteers for a temporary event, then training is not required.  Otherwise, yes, all food 

handlers are required to have training. 

 

 

Updated December 31, 2013 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

 



 

 



Refresher Course Eligibility Chart  

The following information is based on Public Act 098-0566 and proposed rules that are in the 
review process.  Some answers are subject to change.  

The proposed rule states, “Recertification training cannot be taken more than 12 months prior 

to certificate expiration date”.   

 

Refresher courses will no longer be available beginning July 1, 2014. 

FSSMC expiration date 
between now and 
October 31, 2014  

FSSMC expiration date 
between November 1, 

2014- June 30, 2015  

FSSMC expiration date on 

July 1, 2015 or after  

  

Can take a refresher any 
time prior to July 1, 2014  

  

*still must pay the 
renewal fee on time   

  

Also may take an 8 hour 
course with exam after  
July 1, 2014 in order to 

recertify  

  

Can take a refresher prior 
to July 1, 2014 as long as 

it is not sooner than 1 

year prior to expiration 

date.   

For example, someone 
with an expiration date of 

December 20, 2014 
cannot take a refresher 

course prior to   
December 20, 2013  

  

*still must pay the 
renewal fee on time  

  

Also may take an 8 hour 
course with exam after 
July 1, 2014 in order to 

recertify  

  

Not eligible to take a 
refresher any time and if  
they have already taken a 

refresher course, it will 

not count toward 

recertification.   

  

Must take an 8 hour 

course and exam in order 

to recertify.  

                           12/03/2013  


